Ireland Wales Co-operation – a European Territorial Co-operation programme

The Ireland Wales programme is one of a family of European Territorial Co-operation (ETC) programmes which provide opportunities for regions in the EU to work together to address common social, economic and environmental challenges.

 North-West Europe Transnational Programme 2014-2020

This transnational programme links the UK (including all of Wales) with Ireland, Belgium, Luxembourg and areas of France, Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland. The managing authority is the Nord-Pas de Calais region in Lille, France.

The North-West Europe Programme is a transnational programme which focuses on:

  • Innovation
  • Low carbon
  • Resource and materials efficiency

Find out whether you’re eligible: North-West Europe website.

Atlantic Area Transnational Programme 2014-2020

Atlantic area eligible areas:  links regions on the Atlantic coast including Ireland, areas of France, Spain and Portugal and areas of the UK, including all of Wales. The Managing Authority is the North Regional Co-ordination and Development Commission (CCDR) in Porto, Portugal.

The Atlantic Area Programme is a transnational programme which focuses on:

  • Stimulating innovation and competitiveness
  • Fostering resource efficiency
  • Strengthening the territory’s resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin
  • Enhancing biodiversity and natural and culture assets

Find out whether you’re eligible: Atlantic Area Programme website.

INTERREG EUROPE Programme 2014-2020

Interreg programme covers the EU28 plus Switzerland and Norway

INTERREG Europe is an inter-regional policy exchange programme which focuses on:

  • Strengthening research, technological development and innovation
  • Competitiveness of SMEs
  • Low carbon economy
  • Environment and resource efficiency

Find out whether you’re eligible: INTERREG Europe website

URBACT III 2014-2020

URBACT III is an interregional programme which covers the EU28 countries. It aims to improve sustainable urban development by encouraging European cities to work together, share knowledge and examples of best practice.

Find out whether you’re eligible: URBACT III


ESPON 2020 is an interregional programme that supports the consolidation of a European Territorial Observatory Network. It aims to support policy development across the territorial areas within the EU.

Find out whether you’re eligible: ESPON